Bihar: RJD-led Mahagathbandhan fields five-time MLA Awadh Bihari for Speaker’s post

IndiaTV-English News

bihar speaker election
Image Source : ANI

RJD MLA Awadh Bihari Choudhury recordsdata nomination for Speaker’s post. 

The grand alliance of opposition events in Bihar on Tuesday named Awadh Bihari Choudhury as its candidate for the Speaker’s post. Awadh Bihari is a five-time Rashtriya Janata Dal MLA from Siwan. He will tackle ruling NDA’s nominee Vijay Kumar Sinha. Sinha is a BJP MLA.

Awadh Bihari on Tuesday filed his nomination papers for the Speaker’s election. Sinha, a three-time MLA, can also be more likely to file his papers at present. 

The Speaker’s election is normally unanimous. But the opposition’s choice to discipline a candidate for the Speaker’s post has made the competition keenly watched.

“The Mahagathbandhan constituents met today and decided to field a candidate for the Speaker’s post. We have fielded Siwan MLA Awadh Bihari Choudhury,” RJD chief Tejashwi Yadav advised reporters in Patna.

Awadh Bihari is a senior RJD politician. He held key portfolios within the earlier RJD governments.

Sinha is a three-time from Lakhisarai in Munger district. He comes from the higher caste Bhumihar group.

The grand alliance received 110 seats within the just-concluded Assembly elections. The NDA secured 125 seats, three greater than the midway mark of 122 within the 243-member Legislative Assembly. The AIMIM received 5 seats whereas the LJP and BSP pocketed one every. There is one Independent candidate.

The inaugural session of the 17th Bihar Assembly commenced on Monday with members being administered the oath of workplace by Protem Speaker Jitan Ram Manjhi. The ceremony is going down on the central corridor of the legislature constructing with strict adherence to COVID-19 norms. According to the schedule, the newly elected members shall be sworn in on the primary two days of the session, on November 23 and 24. The election for Speaker’s post will happen on Wednesday. 

Latest India News

Source link