Bihar Assembly election 2020: Ex-DGP Gupteshwar Pandey ticketless as Buxar seat goes to BJP

Gupteshwar Pandey ticketless as Buxar seat goes to BJP
Image Source : PTI

Gupteshwar Pandey ticketless as Buxar seat goes to BJP

Former Bihar DGP Gupteshwar Pandey took VRS final month and joined the ruling Janata Dal (United), triggering hypothesis that he’ll contest the Assembly elections. It was speculated that Pandey will enter the fray from the Buxar seat. Buxar is Pandey’s hometown the place he enjoys sizeable help. 

But his dream of contesting elections from Buxar took successful when the Buxar seat went to the BJP’s quota within the seat-sharing pact between the BJP and the JD(U). The JD(U) has already declared the checklist of 115 candidates, which means the probabilities in Pandey contesting election is nil.  

The BJP has now introduced the identify of the candidate who will contest elections from Buxar within the south Bihar. The get together has given a ticket to Parshuram Chaturvedi from right here. 

Pandey had in 2009 taken untimely retirement to contest the Lok Sabha elections. But the state authorities didn’t settle for his VRS software and reinstated him within the service. Pandey, a 1987-batch IPS officer, had made the headlines not too long ago for his feedback on the Mumbai Police’s investigation in actor Sushant Singh Rajput’s loss of life case. He had additionally lashed out at actor Rhea Chakraborty saying she didn’t have the ‘stature’ to touch upon Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Pandey, 59, was born in Geruabandh village of Buxar district. An alumnus of Patna University, Pandey cleared the united states and joined the Indian Police Service in 1987. He had beforehand served as SP in a number of districts. He is understood for taking initiatives to make police people-friendly.

The three-phase elections in Bihar will happen between October 28 and November 7. The first section on October 28 will cowl 71 seats, and the second section on November three will see polling happening throughout 94 seats. The third and last section on November 7 will embrace the remaining 78 seats. The counting of votes will happen on November 10. 

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Source link

About The Author