Nobel Prize 2020 for Physics: 3 scientists win award for discoveries about black hole

Nobel Prize for Physics
Image Source : AP

David Haviland, member of the Nobel Committee for Physics, left, and Goran Ok. Hansson, Secretary General of the Academy of Sciences, announce the winners of the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics throughout a information convention on the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in Stockholm, Sweden.

Three scientists gained this yr’s Nobel Prize in physics on Tuesday for advancing our understanding of black holes. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences stated that Briton Roger Penrose will obtain half of this yr’s prize “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity.”

Goran Ok. Hansson, the academy’s secretary-general, stated German Reinhard Genzel and American Andrea Ghez will obtain the second half of the prize “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy.”

The prizes have a good time “one of the most exotic objects in the universe,” black holes, which have change into a staple of science fiction and science reality and the place time even appears to face nonetheless, Nobel committee scientists stated.

Penrose proved with arithmetic that the formation of black holes was attainable, primarily based closely on Albert Einstein’s common principle of relativity. Genzel and Ghez appeared on the dust-covered heart of our Milky Way galaxy the place one thing unusual was happening, a number of stars shifting round one thing they couldn’t see.

It was a black hole. Not simply an atypical black hole, however a supermassive black hole, four million instances the mass of our solar.

Now scientists know that every one galaxies have supermassive black holes.

It is widespread for a number of scientists who labored in associated fields to share the prize. Last yr’s prize went to Canadian-born cosmologist James Peebles for theoretical work about the early moments after the Big Bang, and Swiss astronomers Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for discovering a planet outdoors our photo voltaic system.

The prestigious award comes with a gold medal and prize cash of 10 million Swedish kronor (greater than $1.1 million), courtesy of a bequest left 124 years in the past by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. The quantity was elevated just lately to regulate for inflation.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize for physiology and medication to Americans Harvey J. Alter and Charles M. Rice and British-born scientist Michael Houghton for discovering the liver-ravaging hepatitis C virus.

The different prizes, to be introduced within the coming days, are for excellent work within the fields of chemistry, literature, peace and economics.


Latest World News

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Source link

About The Author