Rebellion in BSP ahead of Rajya Sabha polls, 5 MLAs withdraw support; likely to join SP

bsp mlas
Image Source : PTI

In a blow to Mayawati, 5 BSP MLAs are likely to join Samajwadi Party ahead of Rajya Sabha election.

In a blow to Mayawati, 5 legislators of Bahujan Samaj Party have withdrawn their help to the BSP’s official candidate, Ramji Gautam, for the Rajya Sabha biennial elections. The 5 legislators knowledgeable the returning officers that their signatures as proposers for Gautam had been solid.

Immediately after informing the returning officer, the 5 legislators — Aslam Chaudhary, Aslam Raini, Muztaba Siddiqui, Hakam Lal Bind and Govind Jatav — went straight to the Samajwadi Party workplace to meet Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav. Meanwhile, studies say that another BSP MLA, Sushma Patel, has sided with the insurgent camp.

This is the primary time that the BSP has confronted such a significant setback, and that too, from her 2019 ally, the Samajwadi Party.

The dramatic growth that rocked political equations on Wednesday is certain to forged its shadow on the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

On Tuesday, an Independent candidate, Prakash Bajaj, supported by Samajwadi Party, had filed his nomination papers, giving a transparent indication of the occasions of Wednesday.

BSP MLA Uma Shankar Singh has alleged that the 5 legislators who had rebelled towards the social gathering had been being given ‘advantages’ of a money-bag and to cease Dalit chief Ramji Gautam, from going to Rajya Sabha.

Though the BSP lacks the required numbers to safe victory, it named Ramji Gautam as its candidate for the November 9 Rajya Sabha by-election. Gautam can also be the BSP’s nationwide coordinator.

The by-election to 10 Rajya Sabha seats will happen on November 9. There are 395 MLAs at the moment and it’s crucial to safe votes of round 37 members to win a Rajya Sabha seat from UP.

The ruling BJP, having 304 members in the Uttar Pradesh meeting, is ready to win eight to 9 seats, and the principle opposition Samajwadi Party with 48 MLAs will simply safe just one seat. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has 18 MLAs.

(With inputs from IANS)

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Source link

About The Author