RJD Congress question Bihar results counting of votes EVM Election Commission clarifies not under anyone pressure

Tejashwi Yadav, Rahul Gandhi
Image Source : PTI

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi together with RJD chief Tejashwi Yadav throughout an election assembly.

As the counting of votes for the Bihar meeting polls continued nicely previous midnight, the Election Commission on Tuesday rejected allegations of any pressure and asserted that each one due diligence was adopted. In an unprecedented transfer, the EC held 4 press briefings on a counting day to replace the media on counting of votes amid coronavirus pandemic and asserted that the counting course of has been utterly glitch free and dismissed the oft-repeated cost of any tampering of EVMs.

In its closing press convention at 1 am on Wednesday, EC officers stated that results for 223 seats have been declared and the ultimate tally shall be accomplished in “one hour or so”. As per the EC web site replace as on 1.45 am, the results had been declared for 234 seats and 9 extra had been but to be known as. FULL COVERAGE

As per present tendencies and results, the NDA appeared set to stay in energy regardless of a spirited efficiency by the RJD-led grand opposition alliance. At the 1 am press convention, Deputy Election Commissioner in cost of Bihar Chandra Bhushan Kumar stated out of the 20 seats left, EVM depend is happening in 17 constituencies.

In three seats, VVPAT slips are being matched with EVM. The paper path machine slips are counted in 5 randomly chosen polling stations. Bihar meeting has 243 seats. In an earlier briefing, the Election Commission had asserted that it was working with due diligence and was not under anyone’s pressure. The remarks got here towards the backdrop of allegations by the RJD and the Congress that some results had been being withheld by returning officers in Bihar.

ALSO READVictory of PM Modi: Chirag Paswan on Bihar election result


Responding to allegations that victory certificates had been not been handed over to candidates from the opposition grand alliance by returning officers on 119 seats, the Commission stated the newest figures on its web site state that whereas 146 results have been declared and tendencies of 97 different seats had been out there. The state meeting has 243 seats. Kumar asserted that the figures out there had been “authentic” as they’ve been despatched by respective returning officers after finishing all formalities. He stated the determine of 119 seats was seen on social media platforms an hour in the past. But the newest and “authentic” determine was in public area now on the EC outcome web site.

Addressing the media for the third time on counting in Bihar amid the coronavirus pandemic, the EC Secretary General stated he desires to make it clear on behalf of the Commission that its officers and its election equipment is finishing up counting with due diligence.

“Aayog kabhi bhi kisi ke dabaav mein nahin raha hai (The Commission has never worked under anyone’s pressure)”, he asserted. Sinha had earlier stated by tonight most of the results can be introduced, whereas the remaining can be out late tonight. He was requested whether or not all of the results can be introduced by Wednesday morning.

Commission officers stated almost 1.6 lakh postal ballots had been electronically transferred to service votes. Nearly 52,000 postal ballots had been utilized by folks above 80 years of age and people with disabilities. They additionally rejected allegations that counting of postal ballots was stopped halfway. They stated at no location, counting was stopped.

Kumar stated as per an EC course of May 2019, if the successful margin is lower than the quantity of invalid postal ballots, it’s necessary to conduct a recount of such paper under video surveillance.

Earlier within the day, the Commission had stated that counting of votes for the Bihar meeting elections will take longer than ordinary and proceed until late within the night time as a result of of 63 per cent enhance within the quantity of EVMs.

Out of almost 7.three crore voters, 57.09 per cent had solid votes within the polls. An official stated the counting has been “glitch-free”.

The ruling NDA in Bihar was forward of its rivals in additional than half of the state’s 243 meeting seats, with the BJP showing set to outperform its senior alliance associate JD(U) headed by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, in line with tendencies out there to this point.

ALSO READBihar to have double engine ki sarkar, as NDA wins majority, Tejashwi’s RJD single largest party

To guarantee social distancing norms put in place because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the fee had elevated the quantity of polling stations from almost 65,000 within the 2015 meeting polls to 1.06 lakh. This meant a rise within the quantity of digital voting machines as nicely. This time, the EC has restricted the quantity of voters per polling station to 1,000 from 1,500 to take care of bodily distancing, thus growing the quantity of polling stations.

“We hope to finish the counting as per procedure late tonight,” stated Kumar. He stated within the 2015 meeting polls, the counting was held in 38 areas. But to make sure distancing norms, this time, counting is being held at 55 areas.

Responding to a question, Kumar stated the quantity of EVMs deployed has elevated. Also the quantity of postal ballots has used. The Commission has taken steps retaining in thoughts these.

“There is no question of the pace of counting being slow,” he stated. The quantity of tables used per corridor has been lowered to seven from the same old 14. But 14 tables have been put in place, although areas and in consequence areas have elevated.

Bhushan stated the quantity of rounds for counting varies between 19 and 51 in several constituencies. The common involves roughly 35 rounds. Each spherical takes round 30 minutes to finish.

Responding to a question on some folks questioning the reliability of EVMs, Deputy Election Commissioner in cost of EVMs Sudip Jain stated the machines are “absolutely tamper-proof” and the Supreme Court has upheld the use of the system on a number of events. One management unit and at the least one poll unit make for one EVM.

ALSO READTejashwi Yadav wins Raghopur seat by margin of over 38,000 votes

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Source link

About The Author